May 16 2021
Alexander String Quartet

Alexander String Quartet

Presented by Mondavi Center, UC Davis at Online/Virtual Space

The Alexander String Quartet will make Mozart’s music the focus of their concerts in 2021. This is a historic year for the beloved quartet as violist Paul Yarbrough retires and David Samuel joins the group. To celebrate this transition the group will focus on some of Mozart’s most beautiful (and not-so-well-known) music: his viola quintets will provide an opportunity for Yarbrough and Samuel to play together; and the three-event series concludes with one of Mozart’s very last pieces, the Clarinet Quintet.

Mozart Viola Quintet in G Minor, K. 516
Mozart Viola Quintet in D Major, K. 593

A major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, the Alexander String Quartet is equally beloved in its second home, the Vanderhoef Studio Theatre. This year the quartet introduces a new member, violist David Samuel, joining cellist Sandy Wilson, and violinists Fred Lifsitz and Zakarias Grafilo.

Robert Greenberg has performed, taught and lectured extensively across North America and Europe. He is currently music historian-in-residence with San Francisco Performances, where he has lectured and performed since 1994.

Admission Info

General $15
Students Free

Phone: (530) 285-0992


Dates & Times

2021/05/16 - 2021/05/16

Location Info

Online/Virtual Space